Skip to content

The Cutting Board

Two Coasts, Two Chefs

What do you call a meal when you just randomly add food together hoping for the best? Tossed ______ ?

I was never a soup person. I’m not sure what revelation I had, but now I like soup ranging from creams or bisques to more low-cal.

Friday I concocted a soup with these ingredients:
Vegetable broth
Small potatoes
Spinach
Oregano
Garlic
Olive oil

Results: It was decent. I cooked the potatoes in water first..perhaps contributing to its lack of taste even after being added to the broth. I’m also pretty sure that some other leafy green vegetable would have been more suitable than spinach. I’m not sure why I insist on using it, it tastes horrible.

Anyway, I encourage you to try making your own soups!  The Food Network recently posted a list of 50 Easy Soups.  I’m going to try 11. Spicy Tortilla and 35. Pappa al Pomodoro, and maybe 48. Garlicky Broccoli Rabe.

Tags: , , , ,

